© New Zealand Broadcasting School 2021

CMA Award Nominations 2020

Emma Duffy
CMA Awards 2020
CMA Awards 2020  NBC Palm Springs

The nominations for the 54th annual CMA awards were announced this morning. The hosts for this year's shows are yet to be announced after Carrie Underwood decided to step down from hosting after 12 consecutive years.

Miranda Lambert leads this year's nominations with a total of 7 nominations, making her the Most Nominated Female Artist in the history of the CMAs awards, with a total of 55 nominations.

The winners will be announced on November 11th. 

Album of the Year

Heartache Medication - Jon Pardi 

Never Will - Ashley McBryde

Old Dominion - Old Dominion 

What You See Is What You Get - Luke Combs 

Wildcard - Miranda Lambert 


Musical Event of the Year

"10,000 Hours" - Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)

"Be A Light" - Thomas Rhett featuring Reba McEntire, Hillary Scott, Chris Tomlin and Keith Urban 

"The Bones" - Maren Morris with Hozier 

"Fooled Around And Feel In Love" - Miranda Lambert featuring Maren Morris, Elle King, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes & Caylee Hammack

"I Hope You're Happy Now" - Carly Pearce and Lee Brice


Entertainer of the Year 

Eric Church 

Luke Combs

Miranda Lambert 

Carrie Underwood 

Keith Urban 


Female Vocalist of the Year 

Miranda Lambert 

Ashley McBryde

Maren Morris 

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood


Male Vocalist of the Year

Eric Church 

Luke Combs

Thomas Rhett 

Chris Stapleton

Keith Urban  


Song of the Year 

"Bluebird" - Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby and Miranda Lambert 

"The Bones" - Maren Morris, Jimmy Robbins and Laura Veltz 

"Even Though I'm Leaving" - Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III and Ray Fulcher

"I Hope You're Happy Now" - Luke Combs, Randy Montana, Carly Pearce and Jonathan Stapleton

"More Hearts Than Mine" - Ingrid Andress, Sam Ellis and Derrick Southerland


Single of the Year 

"10,000 Hours" - Dan + Shay (with Justin Bieber)

"Beer Never Broke My Heart" - Luke Combs 

"Bluebird" - Miranda Lambert 

"The Bones" - Maren Morris 

"I Hope" - Gabby Barrett


Vocal Group of the Year 

Lady A 

Little Big Town 


Old Dominion 

Rascal Flatts 


Vocal Duo of the Year

Brooks & Dunn

Brothers Osborne

Dan + Shay 

Florida Georgia Line 

Maddie & Tae 


Musician of the Year 

Jenee Fleenor - Fiddle 

Paul Franklin - Steel Guitar

Rob McNelley - Guitar

Ilya Toshinskiy - Guitar 

Derek Wells - Guitar


Music Video of the Year 

"10,000 Hours" - Dan + Shay (featuring Justin Bieber) (Directed by Patrick Tracy)

"Bluebird" - Miranda Lambert (Directed by Trey Fanjoy) 

"Homemade" - Jake Owen (Directed by Justin Clough)

"I Hope You're Happy Now" - Carly Pearce and Lee Brice (Directed by Sam Siske)

"Second One To Know" - Chris Stapleton (Directed by David Coleman) 


New Artist of the Year 

Jimmie Allen 

Ingrid Andress 

Gabby Barrett

Carly Pearce

Morgan Wallen